A Travellerspoint blog

WALLS OF CITY OF YORK ENGLAND

Defence

DOTTED LINE IS THE WALL.BY FOSS ISLANDS RD,PARAGON ST.NUNNERY LANE, QUEENS ST,STATON RD.GILLYGATE.

DOTTED LINE IS THE WALL.BY FOSS ISLANDS RD,PARAGON ST.NUNNERY LANE, QUEENS ST,STATON RD.GILLYGATE.

wall near rail station.

wall near rail station.

STEPS UP TO WALL ,AT LAYERTHORPE BRIDGE OVER RIVER FOSS.

STEPS UP TO WALL ,AT LAYERTHORPE BRIDGE OVER RIVER FOSS.

ENTRANCE AT LAYERTHORPE BRIDGE . GATE LOCKED AT NIGHT.

ENTRANCE AT LAYERTHORPE BRIDGE . GATE LOCKED AT NIGHT.

WALL AT JEWBURY

WALL AT JEWBURY

WALL IN LORD MAYOR WALK

WALL IN LORD MAYOR WALK

CORNER TOWER AT LORD MAYOR WALK

CORNER TOWER AT LORD MAYOR WALK

SPRINGTIME

SPRINGTIME

SPRINGTIME LOOKING TOWARDS MINSTER

SPRINGTIME LOOKING TOWARDS MINSTER

BARBICAN OF WALMGATE BAR

BARBICAN OF WALMGATE BAR

INSIDE THE BARBICAN WALMGATE

INSIDE THE BARBICAN WALMGATE

INSIDE CITY WALMGATE BAR

INSIDE CITY WALMGATE BAR

CITY WALL LOOKING TOWARDS THE MINSTER

CITY WALL LOOKING TOWARDS THE MINSTER

DOTTED LINE IS THE WALL.BY FOSS ISLANDS RD,PARAGON ST.NUNNERY LANE, QUEENS ST,STATON RD.GILLYGATE.

DOTTED LINE IS THE WALL.BY FOSS ISLANDS RD,PARAGON ST.NUNNERY LANE, QUEENS ST,STATON RD.GILLYGATE.

WALMGATE BAR WITH BARBICAN

WALMGATE BAR WITH BARBICAN

MICKLEGATE BAR, FROM INSIDE CITY

MICKLEGATE BAR, FROM INSIDE CITY

MICKLEGATE BAR FROM OUTSIDE CITY IN BLOSSOM STREET. YORK

MICKLEGATE BAR FROM OUTSIDE CITY IN BLOSSOM STREET. YORK

BOOTHAM BAR FROM OUTSIDE THE CITY

BOOTHAM BAR FROM OUTSIDE THE CITY

MONK BAR INSIDE CITY

MONK BAR INSIDE CITY

MONK BAR FROM OUTSIDE THE CITY.

MONK BAR FROM OUTSIDE THE CITY.

[img=https://photos.travellerspoint.com/935071/large_DSCN0317.JPG caption=CITY WALL,LOOKING TOWARDS THE MINSTER YORK-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------There have been walls round the city of York since Roman times in 71AD.-- York has more intact wall than any other city in England. The medieval wall has four main gateways called Bars, BOOTHAM, MONK, WALMGATE and MICKLEGATE. In medieval times tolls were paid at the Bar. They were closed in time of wars. There are two minor bars, FISHERGATE bar dating from 1315 and VICTORIA bar opened 1838. ---The walls have FREE access and can be walked round as a full circuit , taking 2 hours,or you can leave the wall in many places. Access to the walls is by steps or stairs, so the walls are NOT wheelchair friendly. The walls close at DUSK, In winter icy weather they are closed till safe to walk. Only assistance dogs allowed. The walls are 3.4 kilometers long, and are built on a mound, of the dry Moat.-- In the springtime the mounds are a splash of yellow from thousands of daffodils flowers..--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------MICKLEGATE BAR is the gateway that monarchs are greeted on a royal visit. Present building from 12th century, but gate from Roman period. Now houses the museum Henry V11 experience attraction run by the Jorvik group. (The name Bar is not a bar for drinking at , but the street MICKLEGATE is known has the "Micklegate Run " for pub crawls.)-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------BOOTHAM BAR as some stonework from the 11th century but mainly 14th century. The road out of Bootham Bar is the old road to the North and Scotland.-- A pleasant walk on the wall from Bootham Bar to Monk Bar, with views of Deans Park and The Minster. If you are short of time, this is a short walk. At Monk Bar you can leave the wall and return to city centre by Goodramgate.--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------MONK BAR. This bar is four storey high , the tallest. King Richard111 resided here. Today the Richard111 experience museum is here. A working portcullis is here.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------WALMGATE BAR is from the 14th century and retains its original barbican and potcullis, and 15th century oak doors. There was a house on the Bar occupied till 1957.---This Bar was bombarded by canon fire in the siege of York in 1644.---------------------------------

Posted by alectrevor 07:49 Comments (1)

(Entries 1 - 1 of 1) Page [1]